On Photo Storage, or What the Heck Is This Mess?

I maxed out my iCloud photo storage. In the process of downloading a few hundred photos and some videos to my home computer, I realized my digital photo storage is a mess. DSCN this, DSCN that. And several hundred photos taken with my brand new Nikon that are dated 1998. 

Huh? What? How?

Three things came to mind:

  1. One of the kids found the camera and was playing with the date and time settings.
  2. I need to hide my electronics better. One of the kids found the camera and played with the settings. My husband cannot know this.
  3. Professionals never seem to practice their professions at home.

I am a trained archivist. My files are a mess. I should know better. 

I should also stop attempting projects at quarter-to-ten at night, but since this is the only partial alone- and me-time that I get, I’m stuck with energizing the last few conscious brain cells with hot coffee so I can slog through my mess. 

Chugging hot coffee brings out the archivist in me. I don’t know why that is.

While attempting to organize my photo files, I’m going the visual catalogue of my life. You’d think I’d be oohing and aahing over the kids, reminiscing about good times or thinking “Damn, I should have gone down to Club Med and spent more spring breaks getting hammered. Fuck. I’m so boring.” Nope.

I chugged my hot coffee; archivist mode is engaged. I’m going through file after file, DSCN after DSCN after DSCN (as in file name DSCN0232.jpg, DSCN0233.jpg, DSCN0234.jpg, etc.). It’s so boring. And there’s no metadata. Boring,boring, boring. Confusing, confusing, confusing. And useless.

It makes me wish I had an established digital image policy with indexing guidelines to follow.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Leave a Reply

