On My LIS Book Shelf

This past weekend I did some spring cleaning and re-housed old professional development handouts.

I’ve got an itty-bitty bunch of outdated library and information science (LIS) stuff. It does not make for a pretty shelfie.

image
Library and archives shelfie with requisite cat toy

Archives books are expensive for grad students and new professionals, even moreso to a non-SAA member on a hardcore budget. The texts I bought in grad school were sold the day after final exams so I could afford books for the next semester. Once I even sold a book mid-semester to get me through a moment of laundry desperation.

image
I could not sell this book for anything. I couldn’t pay people to take it.
image
No one ever wanted this book. I think I’m the only one who ever picked it up. Note that I didn’t say “only one who ever read it.” Because I don’t think I opened it three times.

As a young professional, I photocopied co-workers’ LIS books — on the company dime, no less, and not an ounce of shame was felt (I didn’t have enough money to have the feels).

image
This title cost $50-something to buy new with a membership discount. I stayed late one night at work to scan someone else’s copy. Then it lived on my desk for a week (doing double-duty as a note pad) until I found an old binder to put it all in.

Still, I like my little library. Film and photography collections are my favorites and I wish I had more on those subjects. The last LIS book I purchased (new!) was actually a title I bought (used!) for a film preservation class (passed!) many moons ago and sold (for practically nothing!) before graduation.

I’d like to put more books on my wishlist because my education is outdated and lacking in breadth, to say the least. Is there anything new or new-ish I should earmark for future purchases? What do I need to read to start on my path to making up for seven years of stay-at-home stagnancy?

2 thoughts on “On My LIS Book Shelf

  1. Eep! We used (and I still have) the Hunter and Saffady in my MLIS program in 2006 – are they badly outdated? (Probably… though I still find the Hunter quite useful.)

    I don’t see Laura A. Millar’s Archives: Principles and Practices (2010) on the shelf and would highly recommend it.

    Like

    1. I graduated from library school in 2008. I thought something new would have come around by now. But if it works, why change? Thanks for recommending Millar’s book. I’ll check it out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

