On Books on Display: Queens Museum Edition

As a good library school graduate, I try to look for books everywhere I go: stores, other people’s homes, museums. Especially museums. There’s no better place for books to be available for browsing and display than at a museum.

My recent trip to the Queens Museum for their exhibition on the Ramones was no exception. (Seriously, if you’re in Queens go and see it. And if you live in Forest Hills or ever spent a bored Friday night in your teenage years wandering around Austin street, you simply must.)  There were books everywhere. There were books in the Ramones gallery…

IMG_3852
Decent photos by me; bad photos are the responsibility of someone else who was definitely not me (looks the other way…)

… and books in the middle of an atrium just waiting to be picked up and read. Literally.

IMG_3866

Museum curators asked exhibiting artists for their book recommendations, procured copies, set them on a cart, and welcomed people to sit down for a bit and read. Absolutely brilliant.

IMG_3867

IMG_3868

Some titles were new, some old. Some unfamiliar, some not. I recognized this one immediately:

IMG_3869.JPG

I love this book –a collection of anecdotes, essays, and reminiscences about New York — because of the section on the South Street Seaport, especially the story  about the former hotel on Fulton Street that’s now a part of the Seaport Museum. I was an educator there many, many moons ago and witnessed the old hotel’s rehabilitation and pseudo-resurrection (before the museum went to total crap, of course; now it’s a shell of its former self, but I digress…). I always liked the story of how it was “rediscovered.”

Moving on.

There were also zines for perusing.

IMG_3908

IMG_3911

And in the true spirit of the zine movement, there was a copier available for visitors to bring home their favorites!

IMG_3907

One of my favorite parts of any museum is the guestbook. I am always entertained by the creativity and prose of those who leave their marks.

IMG_3900

IMG_3894

IMG_3895

IMG_3897

IMG_3899

IMG_3898

Like a good museum patron (and mature adult), I signed the guest book, too.

IMG_3901
Hand turkey!!!!

Last, but not least, was the gift shop. Two books of note. The Punk Rock Fun Activity Book …

IMG_3920

… and What is Punk? which is probably the most adorable book I’ve ever seen.

IMG_3923

I mean, just look at it!

IMG_3922

Leave a Reply

