Post-SAA Howl

I’m not sure I still think getting a MS in information and library science was a better choice than a PhD in ancient Near Eastern art and archaeology.

Sigh…

What follows is a great post by Rebecca from Derangement and Description. It’s from 2010, but could have been written last year or even next month after SAA 2016. Some things don’t change.

Derangement and Description

(If you want to share today’s comic, please link to this post instead of copying the image–the context is very important. Thank you!)

Those of you who know me as an archives tech, rather than as a webcomicker, know that I am passionate about supporting archives students and new archivists. I started the original Crash Space for Archivists and listed my house. I support my local SAA student chapter. I CC-license my comics so that students (and others) have a large collection of free, archives-themed images to use in their papers and presentations. You could say that my interest in these issues, as an aspiring archivist,  is somewhat self-serving, but as someone with a full-time, non-grant-funded archives job, I am unaffected by many of the issues facing new members of our profession (and pretty damn lucky).

When I attended SAA this year, I was fortunate to meet lots of experienced archivists–many…

View original post 297 more words

Leave a Reply

